challenges. the pint-sized kind.

Sigh. Four year olds. Just now, during our bedtime routine (which I am single-momming it through, thanks EMT class!) I asked Jovi three times if she needed to go potty. I’m trying to move past the “go potty NOW whether you have to or not” stage and into the “I will allow you a snippet of independence in this regard as far as deciding for yourself whether or not to go.” Because you know.. she’s four. But also, SHE’S FOUR.
So after tucking her into bed and threatening her to NOT GET OUT OF BED FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THAT IS PRECIOUS (we’ve been having issues with that, obviously) she yelled at me from across the house. But like.. she followed the no-getting-out-of-bed-unless-your-arm-has-fallen-off-and-you-are-bleeding-all-over-your-pillow-pet rule, I guess? By yelling at me. From across the house. While her sister was trying to go to sleep in the same room. Four year olds.

So I go into to check on her and she says quietly, I have to go potty.

…….

I just made this face : | and was all I told you three times! I kept asking! I … OK. I.. just go. Just go, and tuck yourself back into bed. AND DON’T GET OUT AGAIN.

I can hear them laughing in their room right now.  Making some sort of repetitive animal noise. From across the house. Four.

Anyway. So the whole point of this post originally – before the potty shenanigans – was to photo-dump a bunch that I’ve taken over the past few weeks. It’s been awhile since I’ve posted. Busy life and all that. Most are from one of my impromptu shoot-things in the backyard one day when the weather was nice. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: when it comes to photographing kids, candids are where it’s at.

I love this photo even though it’s blurry. Cousin Austin was tickling her!

laughing at the boys’ shenanigans

my business logo will be a dandelion. Just as soon as *someone* (COUGH) designs it for me. (COUGHCOUGHCOUGH)

OK is it just me or does she look like she’s about nine years old in this photo? Stop aging exponentially, Jovi!

We never found Jovi’s name in any baby book. The closest was “Jovial” which means joyous. It’s fitting, I think.

another one of those “it’s blurry but I don’t care” photos 🙂

Let me tell you something, the life of a (little) girl is all about the drama. I’m not sure that changes much.

summer feet

love.

love most.

This entry was posted in Family, Kids, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to challenges. the pint-sized kind.

  1. slschrempp says:

    Oh my goodness, Jen – you’ve done it again! You totally brought tears to my eyes. What beautiful pictures of the most beautiful little girls. My day is complete.

  2. christa says:

    Gorgeous pics! I love dandelions — perfect for a logo… goooooood choice!

  3. Kendra says:

    Someday we are all going to say…”remember when the kids used to get out of bed 5 times at bedtime before finally falling asleep….those were the easy days.” *sigh* Love these 2 beautiful girls!!! 🙂

Leave a comment