some randoms.

It finally snowed. I’m not a huge fan of winter this year (mostly because my homeostasis is all screwed up and I’m always cold, even if it’s 80 degrees in our house) and to be teased for weeks on end with 60 degree spring-like weather only to be shocked into the 20s was super lame, even for Nevada. But the snow makes it better. The snow is a tangible sign that it is still winter, no matter how many times I wear a sundress indoors in protest. With a sweatshirt over it, because you know. Broken homeostasis.

One of the other reasons I loathe winter is because of unending illnesses. Aven puking, Jovi ear aches… runny noses that leave crusty streaks on my clothes whenever the girls touch me. Boxes and boxes and boxes of kleenex. Lysol all over the place. Phlegmy coughs in my face all.the.time, etc. But Jovi? When she gets sick she gets sick. I mean, she doesn’t mess around. So right now (after a couple days of fever and absolutely no other symptoms other than lack of appetite) we are treating her for a double ear infection, strep throat and pneumonia! Awesome. Her copious amount of germiness meant we stayed indoors all weekend, and actually it was pretty fabulous. We lazed around, played Candyland and matching games, snuggled, purged toys and enjoyed each others’ company.

And Kyle and I played numerous games of Words With Friends with each other. (is it weird to play a game like that online, through individual devices, while we’re sitting right next to each other? I couldn’t decide).

It was a super relaxing, content weekend. I also made the best broccoli ever, and if you have any ounce of sense in your brain you will drop everything you are doing and MAKE THIS. Right now. Go.

Roasted Broccoli with Garlic and Lemon

~ Preheat to 425 degrees.
~ Line a cookie sheet with foil.
~ Snip fresh broccoli into florets. Make sure they are completely dry if you rinse them. And really.. no need to rinse. Bad Things can’t survive 20 minutes at 425 degrees, right? But if it weirds you out not to wash, then do. I didn’t because I am risky like that. (I will probably pay for this later with horrible stomach cramps and explosive diarrhea).

~ Lay the florets on the baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil. Toss to coat, making sure they’re all coated in a thin layer. Sprinkle with kosher salt (KOSHER. it makes a difference!) and freshly ground black pepper.

~ Slice up a few garlic cloves (I used 4 or 5) and throw them in there as well. Toss it all together and bake in preheated oven for 20 – 25 minutes. Check partway through and give the pan a shake if they’re not browning evenly. The little fuzzy bits should brown and caramelize. This means you are doing something amazing and wonderful and tasty.

~ When they’re browned but still crisp-tender, zest a whole lemon over the top and then squeeze the juice over. Toss to coat. Then sprinkle fresh grated parmesan over it and serve.

You guys. I just. I can’t even.

The garlic (that little brown bit in the center-ish toward the right on the bottom) roasts as well and turns a little sweet. The lemon adds this burst of flavor and freshness to it all. The salt is salty but not too, and the cheese adds that nutty flavor. It’s just so, sooo good. I’m making it again in a couple of days.

I also made Blackened Fish (used tilapia fillets) and rice pilaf. So yum.

The girls, not huge fans of fish in such form (and they were spicy, so I don’t blame them!) had chicken noodle soup for their dinner. And gross, please excuse the look of that chair. Kids, you know.

This entry was posted in Tummy Nummers. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to some randoms.

  1. Kristy says:

    When Josh is home we play WWF too πŸ˜›

    • I love hearing the underwater fart-sound the letters make when you shuffle them, and then brrrring! when a turn is completed. hehe!!

      What is your username? We should play a game together! I am injeneral if you want to find me πŸ™‚

  2. Kendra says:

    I made the broccoli tonight…YYYUUUUUMMMMMM!!!!!!! I’ll be honest, there was a little too much lemon but other than that…Oh. My. Word! πŸ™‚

    • I zested the whole thing over the top but only squeezed juice from half of it — I should have said that in my post! Whoops πŸ™‚ Glad you enjoyed it! It’s hard to describe the flavor, right? It’s just so so soo good! I have another couple heads in my fridge waiting to be roasted πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

