daily thanksgiving

creativity

Today was sort of a replica of yesterday, but with more uncooked macaroni and paint.

Last night while I was trying to coax Jovi into going to bed (which is a regular thing these days. sigh) I promised her that we would do some “projects” in the morning. Silly me conveniently forgot about the whole Fall Back thing. Jovi kept to her internal schedule rather than caring about what the alarm clock said. Instead of being up at 6:30, like normal, she was up at 5:30. As I felt my way through the dark living room, no glasses on, barely awake, Jovi was already nestled on the couch watching her morning cartoons. I had plans to go back to bed for another hour – I just had to let Ona out to go potty. Before I even got to the door Jovi hit me with Are we going to do a project now, mommy?

Oy.. this is going to be one of those days. The kind where I should have thought ahead 10 hours to what the morning would look like if I didn’t wake up armed with Elmer’s and glitter. I’m not a morning person, can you tell? Ha! I tried to explain the whole “waiting for daylight” thing to Jovi, but she was just so excited to see what I had up my sleeve for projects. And bless her heart (but only if it’s past 9 a.m. Before that, I have no room for awww how sweet!s in my world. Hey, just being honest.) I’m pretty sure she had dreams about crafts and projects and turkeys and all those other things I put into her head right before bed last night. I managed to fend her off for a few hours, but by 9:45 a.m. we’d already done three little projects. And made breakfast. And did a load of laundry. This daylight savings time thing is brutal! A full day before 10 a.m.!

I really do love her craving for creativity, though. She loves All Things Art. She loves to paint and draw and glue and cut and all those other things that capture the pint-sized imaginations. I know she’s not unique in that sense — kids her age are ingrained with that love of art and creating, I think. I’m thankful for her creative spirit and for being patient with her mother in those early morning hours when I was just not in the mood yet. I got there eventually though, and we had fun. See?

I think a qualification to be a toddler is to have a continuous snotty nose.

mixed media!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to daily thanksgiving

  1. Kendra says:

    super cute crafty artworks!! You need to have some sort of revolving art wall/door/clothesline for all their masterpieces. 🙂 I think I better add “art/craft/glitter supplies to my Christmas lists for those girls. Glad you had a fun weekend with them…and could just “be” too. Those times are by far the best!!!

  2. Dawn says:

    Love all the pics of the girls. I miss making all the turkeys with mac and glitter stuff on them. I wonder if I should brake out the old ones or see if I can get Cheyenne and Shane to make to make new ones. Enjoy the cool crafts while you can!!

Leave a Reply

