daily thanksgiving

(*this post was written yesterday but went unpublished)

the chance to just be

I think winter has officially arrived. Well, until the mercury inches up to the 60s or 70s again, which I’m sure will happen in the next couple of weeks. But today? It’s freezing outside. Literally. When we did our morning errands this morning the temperature gauge in my vehicle never read above 29 degrees. We got home around 11 a.m., I put the girls down for a nap and cranked up the pellet stove. It’s a warm, balmy 81 degrees in my house. OH YES.
Normally when our days are filled with us girls and Kyle is gone (today he’s at an 8 a.m. – 10 p.m. EMT training) we divide our time between inside and outside; playing, crafting, snacking and just keeping busy in general. Today has been lazy. And I love it.

It’s so  nice to take a break from Everything and just ….be. I’m thankful that today was one of those days. After the girls woke up, we half-heartedly picked up toys with enough breaks in between to read books, watch cartoons and play with my brother’s puppy, who is on a sleepover at our house tonight. I even made popcorn and the girls munched on that while they watched Kipper and Caillou.

she played dress up too, did I mention that?

Our dog Heidi and my brother's dog Ona

Jovi and I made Pumpkin Doughnut Muffins, which are as amazingly delicious as they sound (I first came across the recipe on my friend Melissa’s blog). Aven was right next to Jovi on a kitchen chair, but rather that helping us she played in a stream of water from the faucet for a half hour. I remember Jovi being entertained by the same thing when she was littler.


After we each ate one — and bonus! they’re not too sweet — we laid on the living room floor and read Fancy Nancy books.

Now, I have some soup simmering for them and I’ll scrounge up something for myself later after I put them to bed. These days of “nothing” are what mean everything, aren’t they? The quiet moments, the stupid jokes, the books and baking and etc. I mean we’ve had our issues as well (tantrums, whining, time-outs).. it certainly hasn’t been all daisies and rainbows, but it’s still a gift to just chill at home with the girls and not have to worry about deadlines or schedules or work or whatever.

I’m thankful today to just be..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to daily thanksgiving

  1. michelle says:

    What a perfect day! What sweet memories you’re making! Brought tears to my eyes… ❤

Leave a Reply

