it smells delicious.

“Delicious” might be a weird word to describe it, but that’s what it is to me! It’s my favorite smell ever — rain on sagebrush. There really is nothing like the smell of rain in northern Nevada. It smells sweet, fresh, earthy and a little dusty, but  not too much. It’s been my favorite smell for as long as I can remember! I have all the windows open and even though it’s not raining in my immediate area, there’s some thunder outside and the smell of rain wafting through my windows. Love it!

But that’s not what this entry is about. My last update was about Jovi’s big week and I need to follow up with photos. So…. yeah. Photos!

first day of preschool.

 

Kendra, bless her heart, agreed to capture the  moments leading up to AWANA Cubbies in case I couldn’t make it in time from my meeting.

Jovi and her pal Carson

My little Cubby!

And OK. This is a little off topic, but I’ve always maintained that there are striking similarities between my girls even though they look different. I still see those familiar looks in Aven that are also in Jovi. Those expressions that I can’t quite put my finger on. When I put Aven down to sleep, she twirls her hair with one hand just like Jovi does. She sometimes walks with one hand out to the side, just like Jovi used to do. And just recently, she started smiling in that super funny, random, “Is that really supposed to be a smile??” way that Jovi used to. It’s like genetic or something. Those traits that aren’t taught just make me feel so good. Like, I don’t have to teach them how to be sisters… they just are.

Jovi when she was around 17 months.

Aven and Jovi this morning. Aven is 17 months.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to it smells delicious.

  1. Heather H. says:

    Seriously Jen, you have the cutest girls EVER! I love love love the scrunchy smiley face they make. It’s kind of fun that you notice things that only a mother would notice, it’s kind of like a secret between you and the girls.

  2. that’s how I feel too!! People say that the girls don’t look alike at all, but I really see the similarities. I guess it’s more in their mannerisms and personalities, but they’re definitely sisters!

  3. Christa says:

    love the pictures! Your girls are growing up fast… just like my kiddos! Blessings to you this day… and I agree about the sagebrush smell… I miss it!

Leave a Reply

