celebrations.

I’ve always enjoyed planning parties and I don’t do it nearly enough. I always have ideas that never come to fruition; decorations I never get around to making and a lot of the things I want to do are just that: wants. But this time was different!

My sister in law (who is also one of my best friends since high school) is pregnant with a little boy who is due in October. I wanted to do a book theme (because really – who doesn’t love books??) and make it bright and colorful and just… super happy. I had all these ideas for decorations and for once, they actually came together and it turned out exactly how I wanted it to. I enlisted the help of my other sister in law and a mutual friend and my mother in law. I couldn’t have asked for a better team!!

I’ll let the photos speak for themselves.

the food table! veggie tray, chocolate covered strawberries, cookie dough truffles, peanut chews, white chocolate popcorn and drinks. gumballs as decorations! We also had garlic artichoke dip, antipasto skewers, bacon-wrapped smokes and chicken/garlic puffs.

 

little golden book image covers taped to pop sticks as decorations

 

mason jars as drink holders with cute stripey straws

 

homemade colorful poms (courtesy of martha stewart!) hung above the gift table and food table. Books and blocks for decorations
display of truffles, popcorn and chews. Savory food also included wonton wrappers (sausage with diced red pepper and diced black olives with a little ranch dressing mixed in, baked in wonton-lined muffin tins)

 

the party planners and guest of honor
these were laid on the tables for guests to fill out during the shower and then given to Heather at the end.
centerpieces were stuffed animals “reading” books with balloons tied to them
I had an extra Peter Rabbit book laying around so I decopauged images from the book onto candle holders
Cake table. Oreo cookie pops (made by me) for guests to take home as favors. PJ is baby’s nickname šŸ™‚ Top of cake read “Welcome Little One – Your story’s just begun!” How perfect is that?? Brilliant mother in law šŸ™‚ She even made a little book to go on top of the cake. Cake is surrounded by some of Heather’s favorite childhood books.

 

beautiful ladies šŸ™‚
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to celebrations.

  1. catherine says:

    Wow!! Great job! I am so impressed with EVERYTHING! I was going to say food, but then I thought, no, the decorations..then I thought, no, the tables..Ahhh..Everything was adorable! If I have to throw a baby shower anytime soon I am totally going to copy you šŸ™‚

    • haha thanks!! I’d love to take credit for all the ideas but most were internet-inspired through Pinterest or aestheticnest (a blog). If you google “little golden book baby shower” that blog will come up with lots of printables you can use! šŸ™‚

  2. Christa says:

    Can I say WOW! I love that theme! I have thought about doing a book theme for the kiddos bedroom… GREAT JOB! You are talented! Heather must have loved it!

    • Thanks Christa!! It was so much fun to put together and plan. A lot of the ideas were internet-inspired so I can’t take all the credit. I just sort of re-created things I’d seen (and loved) elsewhere. She did love it though! We were all sad because it was over too soon. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

