A new home.

The name of this blog holds much more meaning for me than my previous one. Although the blogspot blog was taken from the lyrics of my all-time favorite singer/songwriter and is from a song that brings me great memories, the name of this blog is my heart. The song it’s from is one full of meaning for myself and Kyle. It’s the theme to our love (as corny as that sounds!), which has spanned over a decade. The song was with us in the very beginning of our relationship and is just as important to us now, even 12 years later! Maybe even moreso.. how fitting are the words “greatest fan of your life.” Indeed.

Those opening cords still make my heart flutter and my stomach gets butterflies. Memories rush back and I always end up texting or calling Kyle when it comes on the radio unexpectedly. The best is when it’s playing when my morning alarm clock goes off. Waking up to the song playing near me, when I’m caught in that place between awake and dreaming… well, it just makes for a great start to my day.

It’s just very us and I’m thrilled to call this place my new home.

I’ll Be, Edwin McCain

The strands in your eyes that color them wonderful
Stop me and steal my breath.
And emeralds from mountains thrust toward the sky
Never revealing their depth.
Tell me that we belong together,
Dress it up with the trappings of love.
I’ll be captivated,
I’ll hang from your lips,
Instead of the gallows of heartache that hang from above.

I’ll be your crying shoulder,
I’ll be love’s suicide
I’ll be better when I’m older,
I’ll be the greatest fan of your life.

And rain falls angry on the tin roof
As we lie awake in my bed.
You’re my survival, you’re my living proof.
My love is alive — not dead.
Tell me that we belong together.
Dress it up with the trappings of love.
I’ll be captivated,
I’ll hang from your lips,
Instead of the gallows of heartache that hang from above

And I’ve dropped out, I’ve burned up, I’ve fought my way back from the dead.
I’ve tuned in, turned on, remembered the things that you said

I’ll be your crying shoulder,
I’ll be love’s suicide
I’ll be better when I’m older,
I’ll be the greatest fan of your…
I’ll be your crying shoulder,
I’ll be love’s suicide
I’ll be better when I’m older,
I’ll be the greatest fan of your life.

The greatest fan of your life.
…greatest fan of your life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A new home.

  1. taz says:

    “i’ll be love’s suicide” …..mmmmmmm ya

Leave a Reply

